Married in Mendocino

On April 17, 2010, I married my best friend in Mendocino, CA– the place where we met 7 years earlier.  For more about that, visit my rambling Novella here.

Not surprisingly, a lot of love went into that day.  I enjoyed the process of crafting a meaningful weekend that focused on family and friends and sharing life’s blessings– of love, of nature, of food, of music, and of the spirit.  While what remains afterwards is the overwhelming feeling of love, here is some of my diy wedding flair:

SETH’S BOUTONNIERE– since my husband is a sailor and we were tying the knot, I made a Sailor’s Knot boutonniere!

 THE WISHES– After the ceremony, everyone gathered on a windswept bluff to toss wishing rocks into the ocean.  I collected the grey rocks with my family at a favorite Mendocino Beach.

Best Man + Mother-of-the-Groom bringing rocks to the Headlands

THE WISHING TREE– Guests were encouraged to write well wishes to the bride and groom and hang them on plum blossom branches.

held in an abolone shell

TRAVEL TREASURES– I’m an obsessive beach comber and have collected tiny treasures from many (but in no way all) of our travels as a couple.  I jarred, labelled, and displayed them throughout the reception hall.

RUSTIC CHALKBOARDS– I found discarded, rustic windows on the streets of San Francisco and made them into chalkboard to display the homemade beer and punch selection.

SPICE SHELLS– Salt and Pepper were held in shells from local beaches I had gathered and scattered on the family-style farm tables.

HERB BOXES– Wooden boxes from the SF Flower Market planted with Grape Hyacinths and Rosemary then covered with moss.

SAVORY FAVORS– Local Mendocino Mustard for every guest covered with a variety of blue patterned fabric hats.

TABLE ASSIGNMENT:  Letters painted on local rocks to mark each table.  Cute utensil stamps to announce each guest.

FRESH BAKED– Over 600 of my mom’s famous chocolate chip cookies were made with love by my mother and sisters!

Leave a Reply

