HELLO WORLD!

There’s no right way to start this, so here I go. If you had told me yesterday or even 2 hours ago that I would be writing a blog today I would have looked you in the eye a few moments, thought about it, and then said, “naaaahhhh I don’t think I could ever really do a blog.” My reasoning and excuses would be numerous, and they would boil down to the essence of 3 points:

  1. I could START a blog, yes. But after about an hour or 2 of enthusiasm, I’d become bored upon realizing how much effort would be involved. The blog would wither in my mind or in the infancy of a blogspot username account.
  2. I can’t write down the thoughts in my head. This is true. I’ve tried. If any of this is making sense, it’s luck. It won’t last long. And
  3. I’m too scatterbrained. I have a million ideas that get lost in the throes of sporadic conviction. My interests are many and my talents are genuine, but only surface deep. I’ve dug a million holes looking for water, but the holes are all too shallow to reach the water.

So here I am, turning to a blog. The blog– a perfect tool for wrestling scatterbrain demons and self-defeating excuses, all wrapped within the facade of productivity. I never understood blogs before. But I had an “aha!” moment about an hour ago, and this blog seemed the only and best answer. So I’m giving it my best shot. Ahhh…blogdom.

(If I were a good blogger, you would now see a little black and white pencil illustration of this analogy:

my blog = me bailing out a sinking boat which actually is my brain filled with all sorts of pretty objects that happen to be causing my brain/boat to sink. Got it?)

So that’s my reason. Oh, and the fact that I turned 30 yesterday, which is just a coincidence that happened to collide with my “aha” moment. But it’s a good coincidence.

Aha!

This all started because I received a bouquet of flowers from my lovely aunt yesterday. As I sat in my living room talking to friends today I kept looking over into the kitchen, eager to get the chance to take the bouquet apart and arrange the flowers in various jars, bowls, and glasses. It’s one of my favorite things in the world to do– put flowers into vessels. I pick flowers and branches from all over my San Francisco city neighborhood and backyard and bring them home to scatter around my home. I’m not sure if this is legal, but I do it. There’s a lavender and rose patch growing wild and un-tended just a few houses down the street–literally sprouting up through cracks. There’s a magnolia tree that blossoms the most spectacular flowers next door. Anyway, I was jones-ing to get at this flower arrangement.  I thought, “This is something I’m good at.  This is something I like to do.”  And then I realized, “Aha…I could have a blog recording this type of nonesense!”

Here’s the flower arrangement BEFORE, as it arrived for my 30th birthday:

beautiful, but boring

beautiful, but boring

And here’s how it looked after I attacked it:

simple relief

simple relief

(Insert into blog a pencil sketch of me roundhouse kicking the “before bouquet”. Boo-yeh!)

So that’s what you can expect from my blog: Snapshots of tiny, domestic inspiration, the magnetic pull of bold colors and patterns to my eye, an obsessive preoccupation with simple food, and an over-stating of the praises of nature’s perfection. Enjoy, blogopolis!

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “HELLO WORLD!”

  1. annalisa Says:

    i love it all wish i could have you here to arrange some flowers and the parts of me that seem to float aimlessly when we dont get to have our skype talks… much love form OZ

  2. Helen Melser Says:

    Hi frutz,
    I wanted to look up something on my site so googled and happened to scroll down and saw your entry. What was the connection between frutz and Elaia Gourmet Olives, I wondered. Well, what a delight to find out!
    I am the creator and maker of the Olive and Fig Jam you mentioned so glowingly!!All the olive products at Juno Olives, where you tasted them, apart from the oils and soaps are mine. Karen discovered them at the deli I supply and asked me to provide them for her new shop in their grove.
    I am delighted you like my jam and it is even more special that you were eating it when the Obamas were boogying! A great day for all of us!
    Cheers
    Helen

    • frutz Says:

      Hello Helen,

      Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment…what a treat! It’s amazing how small the world becomes on the world wide web! We’re about ready to open our second jar of the Olive and Fig jam and I may need to pry it out of the hands of my mother-in-law before she leaves town 😉 It’s delicious! I’ve updated my blog post a little bit to make sure all my facts are right and am delighted you found us!! All my best in the new year…Christen (aka “frutz”)

Leave a Reply

